The plenary session will take place on June 6, between 10:00 en 12:00 hours. Participants will be able to have an informative session about major challenges for the next decades for population health with the following panel members:

Prof. Yoav Ben-Shlomo: Life course epidemiology for ageing research


Yoav Ben-Shlomo qualified in medicine from St. George’s Hospital Medical School with an intercalated BSc in psychology. He obtained a Wellcome Trust Fellowship in clinical epidemiology and completed his MSc and PhD at UCL. He moved to the School of Social and Community Medicine, at Bristol University as a senior lecturer and was promoted to Professor in 2005. He is internationally known for his work on life course epidemiology (four books in OUP series and key paper has over 1000 citations), neurodegenerative disorders and ageing. He is the lead epidemiologist of two research teams (PD-Discovery and PROBAND) examining biomarkers and prognosis in Parkinson’s disease. He is also a member of the UK BIOBANK neurodegenerative outcomes working group and part of the DPUK consortium. He leads the Caerphilly Prospective cohort (CaPS) which has examined ageing traits such as cognitive decline and dementia. He was a member of the HALCyon collaborative research programme, which was originally funded by the New Dynamics of Ageing (NDA) programme, a joint initiative of five UK Research Councils. He is also a member of the CLaRHC West and NIHR School of Public Health Research groups.

Prof. Marion Koopmans: The threat of new pandemics


Marion Koopmans focuses on global population level impact of rapidly spreading zoonotic virus infections, with special emphasis on foodborne transmission. Her research focuses on unravelling the modes of transmission of viruses among animals and between animals and humans, and the use of pathogenic genomic information to unravel these pathways and to signal changes in transmission or disease impact.

She is scientific coordinator of COMPARE, a large H2020 funded project (20 MEuro), exploring the potential uses of next generation sequencing techniques for outbreak detection and tracking ( ), and co-PI in the FP7 funded PREPARE project ( ) aimed at building a pan-European operational network for rapid and large-scale European clinical research in response to infectious disease outbreaks with epidemic potential.

She is director of the WHO collaborating centre for emerging infectious diseases at Erasmus, and Scientific Director “Emerging infectious diseases” of the Netherlands Centre for One Health ( ). She has received the Infectious disease award of the Dutch Association for Infectious Diseases. She has co-authored >500 papers that have been cited > 20.000 times.

Prof. Bert Brunekreef: Burden of Environmental Disease


Bert Brunekreef studied Environmental Sciences at the University of Wageningen. He specialized in air pollution and environment and health, and after his PhD he spent a year at the Harvard School of Public Health. Brunekreef has been Professor of Environmental Epidemiology in Wageningen since 1993, and since 2000 in Utrecht. At the University of Utrecht he set up the Institute for Risk Assessment Sciences in 2005. Since the early 1990s, he has been coordinator of five EU funded studies (PEACE, TRAPCA, AIRALLERG, AIRNET, ESCAPE) in the field of air pollution, allergy and health. He was a partner in many other international collaborative studies and PI on three studies funded by the US Health Effects Institute.

On several occasions, Bert Brunekreef served as advisor on national and internati­onal panels in the field of environmental health, including the Dutch National Health Council, of which he is a member, WHO and the US EPA.
Bert Brunekreef is co-author of more than 500 peer reviewed journal articles in the field of environmental epidemiology and exposure assessment. In recent years, he received the ISEE John Goldsmith award (2007), the European Lung Foundation Award (2007), an honorary doctorate of the Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium (2008), the Heineken Prize for Environmental Sciences (2008), and an Academy Professorship of the Dutch Royal Academy of Sciences (2009) to which he also was elected to become a member in 2009.